

# **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

# LIQUID WASTE MONITORING COMMITTEE

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 10, 2023 RESOLUTION #: 13/2023

**PURPOSE**: The Liquid Waste Monitoring Committee (LWMC) is required by the Village of Kaslo's Liquid Waste Management Plan (LWMP).

## Mandate

The role of the LWMC is to ensure that the commitments of the LWMP are carried out in accordance with the Implementation Schedule (Section 7.1 of the LWMP), which include:

- Advancing long term community goals
- Project cost recover
- Monitoring & sampling of the receiving environment
- Monitoring & documentation of private septic system performance
- Incremental expansion of the system and service areas
  - Assisting with public initiatives and public education

## Reporting

The committee will report to Council at least annually.

#### Schedule

The committee will meet at least annually each November or at the call of the Chair

**MEMBERSHIP:** All appointments to voting positions must be made by resolution of Council.

#### Term

Appointments shall be for a 4 year term. Appointments may be rescinded at any time by Council and vacancies may be filled by Council resolution.

## **Composition**

The voting members of the Committee shall be:

- The Mayor of Kaslo or their designate
- 1 additional member of Council
- 5 members of the public, 2 of whom must own property within the sewer service area

Staff may attend meetings at the discretion of the CAO, to provide procedural or subject matter advice, but will not have voting rights.

#### Quorum

Quorum shall be 4 voting members of the Committee.

## **RESOURCING**:

The Corporate Officer or their designate will ensure that meeting notices are posted, agenda packages are distributed, minutes are recorded, and meeting materials are available for public inspection.

With the approval of the CAO, municipal staff will prepare reports and analysis as requested by the committee.

## **PROCEDURE:**

The Mayor shall act as Chair of the committee. If the Mayor is not present, staff will call for a chair to be selected by the members present at the meeting.

The following non-voting members may have privilege of the floor on any matter before the committee:

- The CAO and Foreman or their designates
- A representative of IHA
- A representative of the RDCK
  - A representative of the Ministry of Environment